Four Spark Impact companies shortlisted for the BioNow Awards November 2015

  • November 18, 2015

Bionow is delighted to announce the shortlisted nominees for the 2015 Bionow Annual Awards, which will take place at the Mere Golf Resort and Spa, Cheshire, on the 26th November 2015. The prestigious Bionow Awards evening, the highlight of the biomedical calendar, will showcase the very best of companies and businesses, located in the north of the UK, in the life sciences sector.

The shortlisted nominees are:

Bionow Start-Up of the Year Award – Sponsored By RSM

Alderley Analytical Ltd

• Liverpool ChiroChem Ltd

• Manchester Imaging Ltd Bionow

Healthcare Project of the Year Award – Sponsored by TRUSTECH

• SAFE-2-SCREEN, Cardiocity Ltd

• Osteoporosis: Identification of vertebral fragility fractures in patients imaged for other conditions, Optasia Medical Ltd

• SAGE & THYME foundation level communication skills training, University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trust

Bionow Project of the Year Award – Sponsored by Waters Corporation

• Transforming Cobra’s Plasmid DNA Offering, Cobra Biologics Ltd

• RegeniTherix™ Wound Theranostic System, Neotherix Ltd

• Porcupine Target, RedX Oncology

Bionow Product of the Year Award – Sponsored by UL EduNeering

• LiquiBand® Fix8TM, Advanced Medical Solutions Group plc

• BioStore™III Cryo Storage System, Brooks Automation Ltd

• The IONA® test – non-invasive prenatal test, Premaitha plc

• therascreen EGFR Plasma RGQ PCR Kit, QIAGEN Bionow

Technical Service Award – Sponsored by NW Coast AHSN

• A new bioanalytical and biopharmaceutical characterisation facility, Intertek Pharmaceutical Services

• Customised Biofilm microbiology, Perfectus Biomed Ltd

• Non-animal tests for cosmetics and personal care, using human cell based technologies, XCellR8 Ltd

Bionow Business Services Award – Cheshire East Council

• BioHub Incubation/Innovation for life science SMEs, BioHub at Alderley Park

• Innovation Fast Track™ Market validation & commercialisation service, Inventya Ltd

• Legal Services, Slater Heelis LLP

Bionow Promising Technologist of the Year Award – Sponsored by Seqirus

• Dr David Brough, University of Manchester

• Dr Samantha Westgate, Perfectus Biomed Ltd

• Dr Stephanie Ravenscroft, Cyprotex plc

Bionow Investment Deal of the Year Award – Sponsored by QIAGEN Manchester

• Angel and institutional investments into Albert Medical Devices Ltd, Albert Medical Devices Ltd / Norris Biomedical Services Ltd

• Equity purchase of A ordinary shares by a Japanese multinational Corporation, Sky Medical Technology Ltd

• Redx Pharma plc Admission to AIM, Redx Pharma / Acceleris Capital

Bionow Outstanding Contribution Award – Sponsored by Sci-Tech Daresbury

• Winner will be announced on the evening

Bionow Company of the Year Award – Sponsored by AstraZeneca

• Advanced Medical Solutions Group plc

• Cyprotex plc

• Redx Pharma

Dr Geoff Davison, Chief Executive Officer of Bionow, commented: “Our awards dinner is a great opportunity to bring the whole network together and celebrate the very significant achievements of the last 12 months. We believe that our 14th annual awards will be one of the best and with more than 350 attendees we are likely to have a very full house again!”

The shortlisting was presided over by a judging panel including; Lorna Green – NWCAHSN, John Willis – Cheshire East Council, Amy Harris – UL EduNeering, Kevin Giles – Waters Corporation, Ruth Hale – TRUSTECH, Graham Bond- RMS, Paul Treloar – Sci-Tech Daresbury, David Tyreman – Seqirus, Jane Theaker – QIAGEN and Mike Snowden – AstraZeneca.

The winners will be announced at the event which is taking place on Thursday 26th November at The Mere Golf Resort & Spa, Cheshire.

For more information please contact Helen Williams on 07714 168020 or at